Daniel's Site

The site with lots of cool things!

Information on Egg Groups - Introduction

Egg Groups are special groups that most Pokemon are grouped into for creating eggs. To make a Pokempn egg, two Pokemon, one male and a female are to be put in Daycare for a period of time. Some genderless Pokemon can use Ditto to breed.

Egg Groups

There are 13 different egg groups. They are Plant, Bug, Flying, Monster, Human-like, Grass, Mineral, Amorphous, Ground, Water 1, Water 2, Water 3, Fairy and Dragon. A special Pokemon, Ditto can breed with any Pokemon with an Egg Group. Some Pokemon Have 2 egg groups

There are some Pokemon that have no egg group, meaning that they can't have eggs. They are Arceus, Articuno, Azelf, Azurill, Bonsly, Celebii, Chingling, Cleffa, Cresselia, Darkrai, Deoxys, Dialga, Elekid, Entei, Giratina, Groudon, Happiny, Heatran, Ho-oh, Igglypuff, Jirachi, Kyogre, Latias, Latios, Lugia, Magby, Mantyke, Mesprit, Mew, Mewtwo, Mime Jr., Moltres, Munchlax, Nidoqueen, Nidorina, Palkia, Pichu, Raikou, Rayquaza, Regice, Regigias, Regirock, Registeel, Riolu, Shaymin, Smoochum, Suicune, Togepi, Tyrogue, Unown, Uxie, Wynaut, Zapdos.


When most Pokemon are bred, they form a egg of the basic form oftheir species. But, a few Pokemon need Incenses to do that, or else the eggs will be of thier evolved forms. The table below shows those Pokemon.


 Female Pokemon Egg Group Incence RequiredPokemon in egg 
 Azumarill / Marill Water 1 / Fairy Sea Incense Azurill
 Chansey / Blissey Fairy Luck Incense Happiny
Wobuffet Amorphous Lax Incense Wynaut
 Snorlax Monster Full Incense Munchlax
 Roselia / Roserade Grass / Fairy Rose Incense Budew
 Sudowoodo Mineral Rock Incense Bonsly